The first legislature

The first Xagħra Local Council elections were held on Saturday 19th November 1994. The first photo above shows the councillors of the first legislature.

From left to right: Saviour Bonello (Indipendent), Anthony Attard (Nationalist Party), Joseph Grima (Nationalist Party), Mario Xerri (Nationalist Party), Maria Stella Buttigieg (Independent) and Joseph Azzopardi (Executive Secretary). The first mayor was Mr. Mario Xerri who resigned from office on 18th April 1996. On 26th April 1996 Joseph Grima was elected in a casual election to occupy the post of Mayor for the remaining years of the legislature. In August 1996, Mrs. Maria Stella Buttigieg resigned from the office of councillors. In a casual election held some days after, Mr. Raymond Mifsud was elected to take her seat as one of the five councillors.

© Copyright – News - Theme by Pexeto